Orange ADU permits and regulations 2021

The City of Orange is proud of its historic districts and is careful about preserving them. It also has a special environmental review process for new building projects. If you’re thinking of building an accessory dwelling unit in Orange, California, start by checking out the local resources below.

Orange ADU resources

City code of ordinances

Includes general guidelines for building, zoning, and more

Zoning and building standards chart

Covers required measurements related to building ADUs

Rental rate trends

The average rent for a one-bedroom apartment in Orange is $2,300 as of June 2021. For two bedrooms, it’s $2,665.

Building Division page

Includes links to make an appointment and schedule a building inspection.

Planning Division page

For info about land use, developmental standards, historic preservation, and the environmental review process.

Financing options

Learn ways to pay for your ADU project.

Orange ADU fast facts

Maximum ADU size

Varies by zone and lot size.

Maximum number of ADUs

One ADU is permitted in addition to a single-family residence.

Side and rear setbacks

Side is 5 feet; front is 10 feet for a single-story unit.

Additional requirements and standards may apply. Contact the Building Division for details.

Orange ADU news

Keep your knowledge up to date.

New California ADU Laws Explained

Blog post on 2021 ADU regulation changes statewide.

Cities Across Orange County Look to Revise Housing Regulations and Review Housing Goals

Voice of OC story on pressure to zone for 100,000-plus new homes in Orange County.

Get a free property assessment

See if one of Villa’s ADUs is a good fit for your Orange property by entering the street address below.

+
Scroll to Top